clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Spurs All-Star History- The Skills Challenge, Three-Point Shootout, and the Slam Dunk Contest

Parker and Belinelli have both shined in Spurs jerseys.

2014 All Star Saturday Press Conference Photo by Ray AmatiNBAE via Getty Images

Tonight is the State Farm All-Star Saturday Night, the big lead up to tomorrow’s All-Star Game

There are three back-to-back events starting at 7:00 p.m. CST on TNT: the Taco Bell Skills Challenge, the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest, and the AT&T Slam Dunk.

As mentioned yesterday, the Open Thread’s attention will be turned toward the Spurs historical involvement. (Hey, if the All-Stars can ignore the Spurs, then Spurs fans can ignore the All-Stars).

Skills Challenge

The Skills Challenge launched in 2003, and San Antonio Spurs point guard Tony Parker was there. He lost to Jason Kidd, but returned in 2009, 2012, 2013. Parker was the winner of the Skills Challenge in 2012 with a time of 32.8 seconds. To date Parker is the only member of the Spurs to participate.

Three-Point Contest

The original three-point contest started in 1986 with Larry Bird winning the inaugural shootout and the two subsequent contests. In its thirty-four year history only seven Spurs players have been invited to participate: Dale Ellis in 1994, Chuck Person in 1995, Terry Porter in 2000, Steve Smith in 2002, Roger Mason in 2009, Matt Bonner in 2013, and Marco Belinelli in 2014 and 2015. Belinelli won the contest in 2014, the same year he became an NBA Champion, with a score of 24 out of 34.

Slam Dunk Contest

The highlight of the Saturday night festivities each year goes to the Slam Dunk Contest. This is also one of the oldest traditions to pair with the All-Star Game. Going all the way back to 1976 when the Spurs were in the ABA, both George Gervin and Larry Kenon competed in the event. It became an on-going event throughout the season that was not unique to the All-Star Weekend.

It wasn’t until 1984 that the Slam Dunk Contest became a singular annual event. And in that first year, the Spurs had Edgar Jones representing them. He fell in the first round.

In 1987, the Spurs had Johnny Dawkins participate, but fell in the first round.

In 1988, Greg “Cadillac” Anderson headed to the contest. Once again, the Silver & Black could not get out of the first round.

Enjoy the highlights, Pounders.

Welcome to The Thread. Join in the conversation, start your own discussion, and share your thoughts. This is the Spurs community, your Spurs community. Thanks for being here.

Our community guidelines apply which should remind everyone to be cool, avoid personal attacks, do not troll and watch the language.