clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Antonio Spurs at Sacramento Kings - The Game Thread

In years past, I could predict the outcome tonight. The Spurs, having cranked up their game in the final weeks of the season, would obliterate the worst team in the league. Even on the road. This year, I'll be happy with a win.

Ptr_ambigram_white_on_black_medium
Game Time: 8:00 Spurs Time, 10:00 pm Argentina
4:00 am Palestine, 3:00 am CET & Egypt
9:00 am Perth & Japan, 10:00 am Philippines
11:00 am Guam, Sydney 12:00 pm
9:00EDT, 7:00 MDT, 6:00PDT

TV: Fox SW
Officials: D. Crawford
Gobles
Adams


51-28
Tony_medium
Tony
Manu
Roger
Tim Duncan
Tim
Bonner
Matt
Michael Finley
Mike


16-63

Beno

Francisco

Spencer

Jason

Andres
images via yahoo.com
27-13 Home 11-29
24-15 Road 5-34
96.9 Offense 100.8
93.5 Defense 109.7
46.6 FG% 44.7
38.7 3-pt% 36.6
76.5 FT% 79.9
40.7 Rebounds 39.0
11.7 TO's 15.5
6-4 Last 10 1-9
W 1 Streak L 7
PG
SG
C
PF
SF
Bench
Coach
Intangibles
Mojo
Winner

Breakdown

  • Point Guard - There is zero chance that Beno can slow down Tony. Unless Beno gets his pick and pop game going, this will be very lopsided.
  • Off Guard - Mason had a decent game for us against the Jazz. I'm hoping for two in a row. Garcia is filling in for the injured Kevin Martin and has been decent. Keep an eye on his 3-pointers. If he hits a couple, he may be in for a big scoring night.
  • Center - Tim should have his way with the youngster. Of course, Tim hasn't been Tim a hell of a lot of the time lately.
  • Power Forward - I like Jason Thompson's game and I wish we had him.
  • Small Forward - Finally, a small forward that isn't really a threat to abuse FinDog off the dribble. The Brazilian is tough, though, and can cause some problems for us.
  • Bench - Our bench is now Bruce Bowen and Ime for all the smalls. Kurt and Gooden up front. I like what Kurt and Drew bring. They have Donte Greene coming off the bench along with some other guys. Zzzzzzzzzzzzz.
  • Coach - I can't remember who replaced Reggie Theus on the Kings bench and I'm not going to look it up.
  • Intangibles - The Kings are on a 7 game skid and got abused by the Clippers in their last game. That abuse was led by Brian Skinner no less. We need to put them away early and get some rest for our Monday nighter in Oakland.
  • Mojo - The Kings mojo is flying pretty low right now. Ours has to be better.
  • Winner - Go Spurs Go

Keys To The Game

  • The first 5 minutes - We need to come right out and grab an 8 point lead. If we let them get energized, we'll be in for a long game.
  • Tony's Jumper - The Kings are going to have to play off Tony and collaps into the paint. If Tony is hitting his 20 footer, he'll go for 40.
  • Rebounding - The Kings are not a good rebounding team and we haven't been either lately. This will be a very telling statistic tonight.

Some other reading

  • Sactown Royalty Still a lively site despite the Kings struggles this year. Apparently, Sacramento is a likely destination for Spurs assistant Mike Budenholzer.

Other Things of Possible Interest

Game feeds

Check this game thead at gametime for specific links to good quality feeds. If you arrive late in the game, the game feed links are usually among the first 50 posts of the thread.

ATDHE.net
PPNBA
MyP2P
OneNation (This is an archive of NBA games, but it hasn't been updated lately.)
BitTorrent Davka (A torrent site where you will find most of the latest games in the league. Bookmark.)