Game Preview: Spurs @ Grizzlies

Hackish to the extreme because it's 2AM here in Arizona, but at least it's here. Besides, the last 3 previews have been hackish, and the Spurs won.

I will always welcome a division win, but beating the team immediately behind us in the standings would be even better. The Grizz have stumbled a bit since we last saw them, but they're still hovering above .500, and they're dangerous as hell on offense.

http://www.poundingtherock.com">Ptr_ambigram_white_on_black_medium
San Antonio Spurs @ Memphis Grizzlies
Where: FedEx Forum - Memphis, TN
When: March 6, 2010; 7:00 PM Spurs time
Watch: FSSW, FSTN


Auxcuadro_medium

How They Stack Up
21-10 Home 18-13
13-14 Road 14-17
100.8
Offense 102.1
96.7 Defense 102.9
47.0 FG% 47.1
36.1
3-pt% 33.6
74.5
FT% 73.4
42.4
Rebounds 43.2
13.0
TOs 15.3
6-4 Last 10 6-4
Won 3
Streak Won 2
2nd, Southwest Position 3rd, Southwest

Country/Time Zone Game Time
Sydney 9:00 AM
Tokyo
8:00 AM
Philippines/Perth 7:00 AM
Egypt 3:00 AM
Central Europe
2:00 AM
Argentina 10:00 PM
US Time Zones
Eastern
8:00 PM
Mountain
6:00 PM
Pacific 5:00 PM

Spurs
(26-18)
Matchups

Grizzlies
(32-30)

Tony Parker
Finally Looking Better
Tony recently said that his plantar fasciitis has been getting better. I don't have to tell you how good that is - just remember how unstoppable Tony was last season, and ask yourself if the Spurs could use some of that.

Mike Conley
Former Buckeye

Auxcuadro_medium


Manu Ginobili
FSM's son

Shooting Guard

Mayo is really good. But the Manu/George combo is just too much.

Advantage: Spurs


O.J. Mayo
Grocery List

Auxcuadro_medium


Richard Jefferson
$14 Million Man

Small Forward

Rudy is better, unless Rage shows us otherwise. I doubt it.

Advantage: Grizzlies


Rudy Gay
Less of a Ballhog

Auxcuadro_medium


Tim Duncan
What year is it?

Power Forward

No need to explain the box.

Advantage: Spurs


Zach Randolph
Former Jailblazer

Auxcuadro_medium


Antonio McDyess
SAM

Center

I really hope Dice is back. We really need him against the oversized Memphis front line.

Advantage: Grizzlies


Marc Gasol
Might be better than Pau

Auxcuadro_medium


George Hill
Cubits FTW

Bench & Role Players

Memphis starts all of their best players, so everyone up above is a starter. The Spurs bring two of their best positional players off the bench in Manu and RJ, but George has definitely stepped his game up as a role player in the starting lineup. And you can't forget BLAAAIIIIRRR. Memphis recently upgraded their wing depth by picking up Ronnie Brewer, but he and Young won't be enough to save them from the onslaught of the BAM.

Advantage: Tied


Sam Young
Blolair's Pitt running mate

Auxcuadro_medium


Gregg Popovich
Wino

Coach

Lionel Hollins just might win COY if he gets these Grizzlies into the playoffs. As for Pop? Maybe he should start caring putting up a decent streak and creating separation in a very tight division.

Advantage: Spurs


Lionel Hollins
Potential (Cursed) COY
images via yahoo.com

Auxcuadro_medium

Other Factors

Auxcuadro_medium

Intangibles

Both teams have won their last few games.

Advantage: Tied

Mojo

There is no mojo. ;-)

Advantage: None

Winner:

Because the Spurs could really use a win here. It won't be the least bit easy, though.

Keys To The Game

  • Defense - Memphis' offense is currently ranked 11th, same as our defense. We need more stops. Simple as that.
  • Ball and Player Movement - The Grizz do a fairly good job of man-to-man defense, but their team D is absolutely atrocious. If our boys are patient and move the ball around like they're supposed to, good things will happen.

Strength of Schedule

It's a SEGABABA for the Spurs, but Memphis has had one day of rest. The Spurs will play the team with the NBA's best record on the road Monday night, while Memphis will be playing the worst team in the league at home on the same night. Again, winning today is an immense help to our cause.

Last Time They Met

The Spurs won.

Some Other Reading

Grizzlies

Straight Outta Vancouver - Here you'll find the SBN site for the Grizz, where djturtleface does everything himself. That guy must have a death wish to do so much.
3 Shades of Blue - The Memphis TrueHoop affiliate.

Spurs

48 Minutes of Hell: The best TrueHoop team blog, period.
Project Spurs: Check out their podcast recaps of the game, plus the well-written articles.


Where to Tune In

TV

This game will be aired on Fox Sports SW in San Antonio, and Fox Sports TN in the Memphis area. If you have cable or satellite, you'll have to look up your individual channel. And of course, there's always League Pass for the haves. For the have nots, read on.

Online

As always, NBA League Pass is recommended for those who are willing to pony up the cash. Most Spurs games will be broadcast there, which is especially helpful for those of us who aren't in the San Antonio area.

Please don't post links to illegal game feeds in the game thread. Links to illegal feeds are not permitted on SBNation, but you can probably find them out there on the internets if you're resourceful and desperate. In fact, nobody can stop you from googling "atdhe". You can also shoot an email to poundingtherockmail@yahoo.com for more assistance.

NBA League Pass audio is still free this year, so check it out.

Radio

If you're in the San Antonio area and aren't near a TV, tune in to WOAI (1200 AM).

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Pounding The Rock

You must be a member of Pounding The Rock to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Pounding The Rock. You should read them.

Join Pounding The Rock

You must be a member of Pounding The Rock to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Pounding The Rock. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker