Game Preview: Suns @ Spurs

This smells fishy. An early, nationally televised game against a bitter "rival". All things that don't seem to work in our favor this year. But there's a first time for everything.

I'll admit to being a hack here: Most of the stuff from the first Spurs-Suns preview is the same, so I just copied and pasted. But if the shoe fits...

Ptr_ambigram_white_on_black_medium
San Antonio Spurs @ Phoenix Suns

Details

Where: AT&T Center - San Antonio, TX
When: February 28th, 2010, 12:00 PM Spurs time (high noon)
Watch: ABC

Auxcuadro_medium

How They Stack Up
20-10 Home 22-7
12-14 Road 15-16
100.5
Offense 109.3
96.5 Defense 106.3
46.8 FG% 48.7
36.3 3-pt% 40.4
74.3 FT% 76.9
42.4 Rebounds 42.5
13.6 TOs 15.0
5-5 Last 10 8-2
Lost 1
Streak Won 5
2nd, Southwest Position 2nd, Pacific

City/Region Game Time
Sydney 5:00 AM
Tokyo
3:00 AM
Philippines // Perth 2:00 AM
Egypt 8:00 PM
Central Europe 7:00 PM
Argentina 3:00 PM
US Time Zones ---------
Eastern 1:00 PM
Mountain 11:00 AM
Pacific 10:00 AM

Spurs
(32-24)
Matchups

Suns
(37-23)

Tony Parker
Food Poisoning

Point Guard

I'm assuming Tony will play today, which isn't exactly a given, but that doesn't mean he'll be able to outdo Stevie "Ageless" Wonder.

Advantage: Suns


Steve Nash
Pretty Damn Good

Auxcuadro_medium


Manu Ginobili
6th Man

Shooting Guard

Manu's got his mojo going in the last few games. Keith Bogans will probably be matched up with J-Rich at first, but Manu will get the bulk of the SG minutes and should be able to win this matchup.

Advantage: Spurs


Jason Richardson
J-Rich

Auxcuadro_medium


Richard Jefferson
Rich-J?

Small Forward

Even the corpse of Grant Hill can beat RJ. Prove me wrong, damnit.

Advantage: Suns


Grant Hill
Not George Hill

Auxcuadro_medium


Tim Duncan
No Random Punctuation

Power Forward

Amar'e scores a lot. Luckily for us, he gives up just as many points on the other end. Oh, and we also have Timmeh.

Advantage: Spurs


Amare Stoudemire
Random Apostrophe

Auxcuadro_medium


Antonio McDyess
Jumpshooter

Center

Lopez just had a career game the other night, but it happened against the Clippers. Even our defense isn't that bad. Dice needs to come back strong from a string of dissapointing games he's put together lately, and the Suns are just the type of team to do it against.

Advantage: Tied


Robin Lopez
The Lesser Lopez

Auxcuadro_medium


George Hill
Great Role Player

Bench & Role Players

The Suns are still without Leandro Barbosa, but that doesn't mean they have no depth. Channing Frye was a starter not that long ago, and Dudley has really come into his own. Still, the BAM showed in the last game why they usually get the white box. And no, I'm not including 3 of last game's starters in the BAM. Only original members get that recognition. I want to see a strong game from DeJuan tonight, and am curious as to whether Malik will earn any minutes after playing very well against Kevin Martin.

Advantage: Spurs


Jared Dudley
Good Role Player

Auxcuadro_medium


Gregg Popovich
Bring Back the Beard

Coach

I'm thinking Pop's beard had mystical powers, especially since the Spurs have been unable to come up with any of the final minute heroics from last season since Pop shaved it. Bring it back already.

Advantage: Spurs


Alvin Gentry
7 Seconds and Loss
images via yahoo.com

Auxcuadro_medium

Other Factors

Auxcuadro_medium

Intangibles

Phoenix just blew out the clips. We got our asses handed to us by the Rockets.

Advantage: Suns

Mojo

There is no mojo. There is only pain.

Advantage: Suns

Winner

I always have a good feeling when we play the Suns, but not this time. I have hope, but not a feeling of inevitability like in seasons past. I'm going to go with my optimism, especially in light of the matchups.

Spurs. Just because.

Keys To The Game

  • Defense - The Suns bring the league's most efficient offense to the table - we have to slow them down. In years past, this wouldn't be a problem, but we've been pretty inconsistent on D this season. Come on, Spurs - convince me it's not an issue.
  • Weather the Storm - Phoenix always comes out fired up to play us, and they usually jump out to an early lead. We can't let it get out of control the way it did the first time we played them, or the way things got out of control on Friday.
  • Bench Play - The Spurs' bench is vastly superior, and they need to play like it. The BAM scored 63 points in our last game, so expectations are definitely being raised.

Strength of Schedule

This is the first game of a back to back set for the Suns, who will be playing Denver at home tomorrow. The Spurs also have a SEGABABA tomorrow night in New Orleans. Hopefully this game won't go down to the wire, because our guys will need some rest before that one.

Some Other Reading

Suns

Bright Side of the Sun - These guys are our SBN siblings for Phoenix, and they do a phenomenal job.

Valley of the Suns - The TrueHoop blog dedicated to the Suns.

Spurs

48 Minutes of Hell: I don't need to tell you how awesome 48MoH is, you already know. Right?
Project Spurs: Good Bloguin blog with lots of good content. Be sure to check out their podcasts and live chats.

Where to Tune In

TV

This game is on national TV, so we got that going for us. Tune in to ABC for all the "fun".

Online

As always, NBA league pass is recommended for those who are willing to pony up the cash. Almost every Spurs game will be broadcast there, which is especially helpful for those of us who aren't in the San Antonio area. You know, when we're not at the games.

Please don't post links to illegal game feeds in the game thread. Links to illegal feeds are not permitted on SBNation, but you can probably find them out there on the internets if you're resourceful and desperate. In fact, nobody can stop you from googling "atdhe". You can also shoot an email to dmenendez@gmail.com for more assistance.

Spurs League Pass audio is still free this year, so check it out.

Radio

If you're in the San Antonio area and aren't near a TV, tune in to WOAI (1200 AM).

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Pounding The Rock

You must be a member of Pounding The Rock to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Pounding The Rock. You should read them.

Join Pounding The Rock

You must be a member of Pounding The Rock to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Pounding The Rock. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker